Meeting Chekney

This is my first photo of Chekney back in 2012. I’ve never posted this photo of her before. Chekney was an amazing storyteller. She was shy at first, as expected, but opened up quite easily as I continued talking to her.

I’ve always wanted to go back here and talk to her again, but most importantly, give her a print of her photos. Personal matters got in the way. My initial desire gave way to unsure intentions; making each day pass with the thought that she’ll always be there and I can go there any time.

I was wrong.

“Natay isunan,” (she already died) the lady said.

I felt my excitement and anticipation turning into sadness and disappointment for myself.

What does this teach me? Plenty.

People are not always there to wait for us. People leave. People die. I was a year too late.

What I thought was enough, wasn’t.

I wish I could have done more… put in more effort to connect with her at the time.

What I thought were unending days, were counted and limited.

What I thought was presence, was fleeting.

View this photo in Instagram | Follow me in Instagram

SheEscobar-Black-and-White-Portraits-Filipina-Documentary-Photographer


Follow me in Instagram

All images Copyright © 2017 by She Escobar, all rights reserved. Images may not be copied, downloaded, printed or otherwise disseminated without express written permission of She Escobar.
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sad to hear the news of her departure, but I’m glad you met her and managed to not only snap an image of her but also engage with her great conversations about life. Something that cannot be replaced.

    Like

Thank you for visiting. Want to share your thoughts about this post? Leave a comment below.

